BCC Accreditation Steering Committee



The overarching mission of this committee is student success through successful accreditation. It is the responsibility of the institution, CEO and ALO (Accreditation Liaison Officer) to keep Berkeley City College in compliance with the ERs (Eligibility Requirements), Accreditation Standards, including federal requirements, Commission policies, and Berkeley City College’s Mission, Vision, and Values. This committee will support the college in keeping in compliance.

Committee Meetings
Meeting Days: Mondays opposite Roundtable
Time: 12:20 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Location: 4th Flr, Rm 451A/B (via Zoom in case of campus closure)

Accreditation Steering Committee Members

Standard Standard I Standard II Standard III Standard IV
Administrative Co-Lead(s) Kuni Hay
Martín de Mucha Flores
Dr. Stacey Shears
Kuni Hay
Brenda Johnson
Shirley Slaughter
Lisa Cook
John Nguyen
Faculty/Classified Co-Leads Sam Gillette
Phoumy Sayavong
Susan Truong Vincent Koo
Barbara Des Rochers
Kelly Pernell
Jennifer Lenahan


  1. To review ongoing changes and requirements for accreditation at the federal, state and regional levels to facilitate keeping in compliance with ERs, Commission policies and Berkeley City College’s MVV (Mission, Vision, and Values);
  2. To coordinate Berkeley City College’s ongoing activities related to its accreditation, including developing and maintaining a systematic approach to tracking evidence;
  3. To periodically review alignment of college processes with accreditation standards;
  4. To maintain the college’s accreditation web site; and
  5. To provide open communication between the Accreditation Oversight Committee and the college community