Banner Image: Scenes from around campus

Humanities

 

 

 

What Do You Study in Humanities Courses at BCC?

Humanities courses at BCC explore ways of thinking, being, and living in a global, transnational and interdisciplinary perspective by guiding student learning in an historically grounded and critically engaged approach to a variety of subjects. Comprising disciplines concerned with human thought, creativity, and experience, courses in the Humanities allow students to study foundations in personal and community values, cultural views, religious beliefs, and aesthetic practices and theories.

BCC’s Humanities Program includes introductory courses in the field as well as courses following specific threads in both Film Studies and in the study of Religion and Philosophy.

 

What requirements do Humanities courses at BCC satisfy?

The majority of our courses satisfy G.E. requirements as well as requirements for the A.A. degree in Liberal Arts with an emphasis in Arts & Humanities. Some of our courses are linked to other degrees and programs at BCC (such as, PACE Pathways, FYE, MMART, and Global Studies). Humanities courses prepare students for an array of Liberal Arts and Social Science majors at the four-year level as well as offer students at any level fundamental approaches and perspectives on human thoughts, values, and expressive cultural experiences.

 

 

Humanities Faculty at BCC

Our faculty come from a diverse array of disciplinary training, including Folklore, Comparative Literature, Cultural Studies, Film Studies, Religious Studies, and Theater. Our inter-disciplinary and cross-disciplinary backgrounds mirror the kinds of courses we offer as well as the kind of humanistic approach we take in our courses.

 

                    (click on names for faculty websites)

♦   Shawn Doubiago, Ph.D. (sdoubiago@peralta.edu)

♦   Dylan Eret, Ph.D.   (deret@peralta.edu)

♦   Jonathan Haynes, Ph.D. (jehaynes@peralta.edu)

♦   Jose Martin, M.A. (jmartin@peralta.edu)

♦   Michelle Mueller, M.Div. (mmueller@peralta.edu)

♦   Laura E. Ruberto, Ph.D. (lruberto@peralta.edu)

♦   Brandon Schneider, Ph.D. (bschneider@peralta.edu)

♦   Joanne Taylor, Ph.D. (jmtaylor@peralta.edu)

♦   Elizabeth Wing, Ph.D.  (ewing-paz@peralta.edu)

 

 

 

Humanities Course Descriptions – click here

For more information specifically about the Film Studies strand at BCC look here:  Film Studies at BCC

 

  • Arts and Cultural Studies

    Thursday 27 August 2015

  •  

BCC Home