Classified Employee of the Year

The Classified Senate of Berkeley City College recognizes that there are individuals who exemplify what being a Classified Professional represents.  These individuals excel in areas such as customer service, leadership, teamwork, and participates in college-wide activities and more.   The Senate recognizes one classified professional per year with this award and it is the hope of the Senate that these individuals will be role models for their peers and co-workers for years to come.


In 1980, former PCCD Trustee Constance L. Ormond established a trust fund to honor classified employees in the District who have provided exemplary service.  To be eligible for nomination, a person must be a classified employee working/assigned at BCC (All full-time, part-time, and hourly classified staff members are included).  All nominations must be made by another classified employee at BCC.


Characteristics that apply to the nominee:

  • Professional conduct
  • Positive attitude
  • Positive interaction with students
  • Spirit of cooperation; works well with staff
  • Work ethic (reliable, conscientious, diligent)
  • High quality work
  • Leadership ability
  • Actively supports and participates in college-wide activities
  • Sense of humor


The Classified Senate nominations occur every March and the winner is announced in April/May.  The award shall be given to the winner at the Classified Staff Appreciation luncheon that occurs every spring semester in April/May.  The Award consists of a $100 check (to be determined by the Peralta Colleges Foundations, based on available trust funds) and a framed certificate presented to the recipient.

Please follow this link to Employee of the Year Award for the current nomination form.

Classified Employee of the Year Award Recipients




Yolanda Young
Account Clerk II/Bursar’s Office
Loan Nguyen
Financial Aid Supervisor
Joanna Louie
 Sr. Staff Services Specialist/Fiscal
 Jasmine Sumandal Martinez
 Staff Assistant to Vice President of Student Services
 no election this year
 Ramona Butler
 Secretary to Dean of Student Support Services
 Felix Smith
 Loan Nguyen
 Financial Aid Supervisor
Shu Hu
 Javier Lopez
 Dwayne Cain
 Head Custodian
 Vincent Koo
College Network Coordinator
 Nancy Cayton
 Staff Assistant/ASL
 Marilyn Clausen
 Staff Assistant/PACE
 John Pang
 Staff Services Specialist/Fiscal
 Gloria Villalva
 Financial Aid Clerk
 Marilyn Montague
 College Receptionist
 Paula Coil
 Assessment & Orientation Coordinator